Superintendent

DR. JUDITH A. PALMER, SUPERINTENDENT
Welcome Back to School 
September 2021



Welcome to the 2021-22 school year! Our administrators, teachers, and staff are excited to welcome our students back to school for full time, in-person instruction. Student and staff safety remains our top priority and we are optimistic that the COVID-19 mitigation strategies we have in place will be effective. Please see our COVID page on the NWR7 website for more guidance.

Several teachers either retired or resigned their positions at the end of last year. Please join me in welcoming our outstanding new staff members:

Mr. Kurt Dougan is our new Technology Education teacher, replacing Ms. Rachel Vincent.

Mrs. Kimberly Budge is our new High School Special Education teacher, replacing Mr. Dave Houldcroft who retired but will remain our STEP Coordinator.

Ms. Linda McCartney is our new Business Teacher, replacing Mrs. Shonda Woessner.

Mr. DJ Reese is our new AIM teacher, replacing Mr. Morus who moved to the Middle School FLEX program after Mrs. Kristen Hall retired.

Mr. Michael Bucci is our new Art teacher, replacing Mrs. Bridget Grady.

In addition, Mrs. Patty Severson, School Nurse, retired over the summer. Ms. Amanda D’Urso has taken her place.
I am very confident in our new faculty and staff members and know they will enhance the NWR7 school community in many ways.

Mr. Andy Bakulski will continue in his role as our COVID-19 Liaison. Should you have any COVID related questions, you can reach him easily via email at abakulski@nwr7.org or by calling the school at 860-379-8525, ext. 2202. Our school nurses, Dorothy Mitchell and Amanda D’Urso are also available via email dmitchell@nwr7.org and adurso@nwr7.org, or by calling the school and asking for extension 2618 or 2619.

Our administrative team is always available to you:

Dan Carroll, House II Assistant Principal, at dcarroll@nwr7.org 860-379-8525 ext. 2252
Gary Franklin, High School Principal, at gfranklin@nwr7.org 860-379-8525 ext. 2100
Fran Amara, Middle School Principal, at famara@nwr7.org 860-379-7243 ext. 2300
Steve Carvalho, Special Education Supervisor, at scarvalho@nwr7.org 860-379-8525 ext. 2505
Judy Palmer, Superintendent of Schools, at jpalmer@nwr7.org 860-379-8525 ext. 2400

It is a privilege and honor to lead our outstanding school district. Thank you for your support in making Northwestern High School and Middle School the pride of the northwest corner.

Sincerely,
Judy Palmer